How to get into Destiny 2

We’re here to help you level up faster, decide which class to choose, and what activities to prioritize.

How to get into Destiny 2

Our beginner’s guide to Bungie’s vast space shooter.

Destiny 2 beginner

Destiny 2 is now available for free and is available on Steam, which means many new players will be making their first contact with Bungie’s loot-based and shared world shooter, inspired by the best MMOs. Destiny 2 has grown enormously since September 2017, and it can feel a bit confusing at first, so we created this guide. It’s kind of a cheat sheet to help you get to grips with what you can expect from Destiny 2 New Light and Shadowkeep.

Eyes up, Guardian.

Should I pay for the expansions or try free-to-play first?

Free is always good, but in this case? Paid is much better. If you’re looking for a storyline, extensions are a good option. Forsaken, Shadowkeep, and Beyond Light are the current expansions you can dive into, the first of which is a true turning point in the Destiny 2 experience. When the game first launched it was tough as we talked about here, but Forsaken really acted as a catalyst positive changes. Then Shadowkeep arrived and took the story to an even darker place with the current Beyond Light expansion, shaking us up in a way (sometimes literally) that is both painful and beautiful. Buying extensions is also a great way to get better gear as it assumes you’ve already played the game while also giving you access to higher tier content like raids.

The free version isn’t a bad start if you’re wondering if the gameplay style is right for you. You can play PvP events like Crucible, PvPvE events like Gambit and enjoy additional content like Strikes. You can also enjoy the Glass Vault Raid, the only raid that is free to all who have returned from Destiny 1’s glory. Exotic expansion quests are also limited to paid players. What you’ll also be missing are some of the best stories in Destiny’s history, plus seasonal content that adds heartbreaking knowledge and stories of inspiring exploits.

Here’s everything you need to know about Destiny 2, including the latest FAQs, updates, and news.

Destiny 2 DLC

Appendix III: Forsaken

In Destiny 2: Forsaken, your Guardian sets out to avenge the death of a beloved character (no spoilers) and take revenge on the one who killed her. Along the way, you’ll encounter new Scorn enemies (undead versions of the Fallen), new PvE and PvP locations / maps, new gear and weapons, and a new raid.

If you’re just hopping into Destiny 2 at this point, purchasing Destiny 2: Forsaken Legendary Collection is probably a good shout out as it includes the Destiny 2 base game as well as all existing expansions to date.

Appendix II: StrategOS

Destiny 2: StrategOS continues the Ranger’s journey with a new story based on Ana Bray, the Long Lost Ranger. Bray searches for a connection with her past, leading her to the glaciers of Mars .

“As the Golden Age satellites crash into the ice, the glaciers begin to melt, revealing the core of Rasputin’s StrategOS – and the ancient Hive army sought to destroy it. Now a free swarm of Hive in the service of their god Xol. Help Ana discover her past and destroy the giant Hive-god worm before it’s too late.”

Rate article