Spyro the Dragon (series). When did the first spyro game come out

However, Spyro’s new skill is freezing breath. In addition, after saving various fireflies, he regains the ability to breathe fire. Finally, a few in-game items and locations enhance Spyro’s abilities.

Spyro Reignited Trilogy Release Date, Trailer, Screenshots, Graphics – Everything we Know about Spyro on PS4, Xbox One, and Switch

When will Spyro Reignited Trilogy be released on PS4 and Xbox One? Does Spyro on PS4 and Xbox One include all three games? Is Spyro Trilogy exclusive to PS4? All of this and more in our Spyro Reignited Trilogy guide. Will Spyro Reignited Trilogy appear on the Switch?

A guide by Tom Orry, Audience Development Manager, Gamer Network

Updated April 6, 2018

Spyro is a beloved franchise that had three parts on the original PlayStation before it was multi-platform with a number of less-liked games. The original Spyro trilogy was created by Insomniac (now known from Ratchet and Clank, Spider-Man) and has gained a lot of fans. Now, Activision and Toys for Bob bring the original games to PS4 and Xbox One in the Spyro Reignited trilogy. Here’s everything we know, including the Spyro Trilogy release date and the Spyro Reignited Trilogy trailer.

Spyro Reignited Trilogy Release Date – PS4 and Xbox One

The release date of Spyro Reignited Trilogy on PS4 is September 21, 2018, according to Amazon’s list, which has since been revised. That’s just over 20 years after the first Spyro game was released on September 9, 1998. Spyro Trilogy will launch on PS4 and Xbox One, but may appear later on other platforms. Spyro Trilogy remakes were thought to be exclusive to PS4 for a year. This does not seem to be the case.

Despite offering three games in one package, Spyro Trilogy for PS4 and Xbox One is reportedly priced at $ 40, which is a bit of a bargain and will no doubt tempt people sitting on the fence about the remakes. The Spyro Reignited Trilogy box art for PS4 also appeared on the Amazon website before it was removed.

Of course, we can’t go back to the times when the world was ruled by skateboarding dragons. And while it would be nice to remember this, if we really love mascots like Spyro, we should also recall the strange and sometimes awkward times that brought us back since then.


The Spyro the Dragon series began in 1998 with Spyro the Dragon for PlayStation developed by Insomniac Games and published by Universal Interactive. Insomniac has created two sequels: Spyro 2: Ripto’s Rage! (1999) and Spyro: Year of the Dragon (2000). These three games make up the “Sleepless Trilogy” and are the only three games to be released on PlayStation. Insomniac Games announced after the release of the Year of the Dragon that it will not be making any more Spyro games.

Spyro: Season of Ice was released in 2001 on Gameboy Advance, continuing the storyline that ended with the Year of the Dragon. It was the first of the Gameboy Advance series of games. There were also two games for mobile phones that were a continuation of the plot of GBA games: Spyro (2003) and Spyro: Ripto Quest (2004). In 2002, Spyro: Enter the Dragonfly was released, which, like Season of Ice, takes place immediately after the Year of the Dragon. The console series continued with Spyro: A Hero’s Tail (2004) and the original Spyro series ended in 2005 with a Nintendo DS game, Spyro: Shadow Legacy, which was also linked to a mobile phone.


Police drummer Stewart Copeland composed all the music for the first four console games. The music for the fifth console game was composed by Paul Lawler, and the music for the DS game was composed by Noel Gabriel. Gameboy Advance uses music composed by Robert Baffy and Ed Cosico and Shin’em Multimedia.

Most Spyro games share the same general type of gameplay, including the following important features:


Spyro’s basic skills are charging, gliding, and fire yawning. Charge and yawn fire are used to attack enemies and destroy obstacles and treasure containers, while gliding is used to maneuver through the levels. Unlike a typical platformer, gliding in Spyro allows the player to cover huge distances horizontally rather than vertically while jumping. Charging is also handy as a way of getting around quickly.


Sparx the Dragonfly acts as Spyro’s health gauge in all games (except Shadow Legacy). It hovers near Spyro and shows the player’s remaining hit points with his color. It starts off yellow and turns blue and then green each time Spyro takes damage before finally disappearing. If Spyro takes damage without a Sparx, the player loses a life and goes back to the last save point.

Toughness points can be recovered by feeding Sparx butterflies, which can be earned by defeating harmless forage in each level, such as sheep.

Sparx will also recover nearby gems. In some games, he may gain additional skills, such as pointing to gems that have not been collected or receiving an additional hit point.

Other Playable Characters

From the third part of the game, players can control other characters on special levels. These include Sheila, Sgt. Byrd, Bentley, Agent 9, Hunter, Blink, and even Sparx itself. Each character has unique controls but maintains a Sparx based health system.

Primary Collectibles

All Spyro games offer a different collectible and the main goal of the games is to explore each level and collect all collectibles, allowing players to unlock new levels and progress. The collectibles of each game are as follows:

  • Dragon Spyro: frozen dragons and dragon eggs
  • Spyro 2: Ripto’s Rage !: Orbs and Talismans
  • Spyro: Year of the Dragon: Dragon Eggs
  • Spyro: Enter Dragonfly: Dragonflies
  • Spyro: Season of Ice: Frozen Fairies
  • Spyro 2: Season of the Flame: Fireflies
  • Spyro: Rhynok Attack: Hearts
  • Spyro: Ripto Quest: Machine Parts
  • Spyro: Hero’s tail: dark gems, bright gems and dragon eggs
  • Shadow Legacy: Prisoners of the Shadow Kingdom, unnamed objects used to open the Shadow Amplifier door and Dragon Eggs.

Each Spyro game contains gems that must be collected in order to proceed, usually because Moneybags demands payment to reach certain areas. Gems can be found on all levels, in containers (which have to be destroyed in different ways) or by simply lying. In most games, they can also be earned by defeating enemies. Gems are limited in all games and must be collected in order to be 100% complete, except Hero’s Tail, Cortex Plot, and Shadow Legacy where they are infinite and must be used to buy items at Moneybags stores.

As for the story, it tells the new story of the rise of Spyro. He is a unique dragon that has come from a faraway land and is leaving the swamps to discover his lineage and the reason for his power.

Insomniac Spyro Trilogy Era

Spyro the Dragon – 1998

Rate article